Skip to content

Wild about books @ home

Now is the perfect time to get wild about books...

Our wonderful book creators are finding lots creative ways to share their books and reading fun online with YOU their readers.

Anna Walker

If you've read Mr Huff, Florette, Peggy, Lottie and Walter and other picture books by Anna Walker then you will know how creative she is! If you love making and creating and using your imagination then visit Anna's new website called Twiglet for ideas and inspiration and on the Twiglet Instagram page

Judith Rossell

Judith Rossell is the author of the Stella Montgomery series and makes the most amazing model houses. Judith is currently running an Art Challenge on her Facebook page. The first challenge was making tiny houses and you can watch Judith's video HERE.  

Tania McCartney

Tania McCartney is sharing a story from her latest Evie and Pog series. Stay tuned for more content on Tania's YouTube channel.

Gus Gordon

It is always a privilege to hear an author read their book. If you enjoy Gus Gordon's picture books you can listen to Gus read his stories on Gus' Instagram page

Sally Rippin

Sign up for the Sally Rippin Holiday program - it's free! Did you you know there are THREE new Billie B. Brown books?

Matt Stanton

Matt Stanton the creator of the popular Funny Kid series is currently doing videos from his studio. In this video you can draw a monster for Monster Monday and have a sneak peek at his new Funny Kid book!

Mo Willems

Fans of Piggy and Elephant and The Pigeon will know Mo Willems. You can have fun doing LUNCH DOODLES with Mo Willems  HERE 

 

Book Publisher Activities

Penguin Random House has fun activities for you to download for some of your favourite books.

In Puffinalia for Kids you will find puzzles, crack the code, drawing activities and perhaps a little bit too much information about Adrian Beck the author of Derek Dool Supercool.

 Puffinalia Littlies for younger readers has mazes, finger puppets to make and you can go on an insect safari in your backyard.

Penguin Random House also have stacks of activity packs for some of your favourite books HERE

 

Stories at Home

Story Box Library - Australian Stories online

With  nearly 300 stories to choose from you will definitely find some of your favourites on Story Box Library. If your local library subscribes to Story Box Library then you can log in and select your library and type in your library card number to watch the stories for free. (If you belong to the Yarra Plenty Library like me - we can use our library card!)

Story Time from Space

You can even listen to stories from space read to you by astronauts on the International Space Station with Story Time from Space . Now that's pretty cool! 

 

Writing Fun

Gross Stories Competition

My favourite podcast One More Page has a Gross Stories Competition for kids up to 12 years old. You can email your story to onemorepagepodcast@gmail.com before April 5th. The winning story will appear on the podcast. Good luck!

 

I hope these stories and activities will help you to get 'Wild about books @ home'. I'll be adding more blog posts like this one so stay tuned! 

I would love to know what you're reading. You're welcome to tell me in the comments...

Happy reading! 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “Wild about books @ home

  1. Elena

    Dear Miss Y,

    I hope you are staying safe. During this difficult time I have chosen to sing, learn a new instrument which is ukulele and of course, READ! I have finished Harry Potter and the prisoner of Azkaban and am now reading Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys in the graphic novel form. I have made an entry in the gross story comp too. I have researched many topics as well. I hope you are enjoying reading many books. What are you reading?

    From Elena

    Reply
    1. Miss Y

      Hi Elena,

      Thank you, I'm keeping safe at home. You have chosen great creative activities to do at home. I would love to hear you sing and play the ukulele! You might be interested in Felice Arena's website for his Besties series where he has chord and lyric sheets for you to download and learn on the ukulele. He has made an album playing the ukulele and singing songs for kids with his mates. https://felicearena.wixsite.com/thebestiesworld/play-the-ukulele-like-ruby

      I loved reading Nancy Drew books too when I was about your age as well as the Kim Aldrich mystery books. At the moment I'm reading some of the adult novels I borrowed from Watsonia library before it closed and I've ordered some new release children's books to review on my blog. I'm also trying to teach myself how to make stop motion animation videos. It's very early days and yesterday when I tried to film outside in the sunshine my plasticine Book Bear melted onto my yoga mat - oops!! You may or may not see a video here on the blog depending on how I go! I'm also trying to go out for a walk each day and I enjoy taking photos of nature along the way. It has been lovely to see families out walking together and lots of very happy dogs with their favourite humans!

      Good on you for entering the Gross Story writing competition. Good luck!

      Stay safe and happy Elena, have fun with your singing and ukulele and happy reading!

      Miss Y 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar