Skip to content

CBCA Clayton’s Night

This week I was honoured to be invited to talk about Books for Younger Readers at the CBCA Victoria's 'Clayton's Night'. It was a big challenge to only choose six of my favourite books from last year! We are lucky to have so many talented Australian authors writing books that make us laugh, spark our creativity, inspire and empower us.

These are the six books I chose and I have also written about them on the Wild About Books blog...

Tales of Mr Walker by Jess Black

The Mystery of the Magic Stones by Sally Rippin

Natural Born Loser by Oliver Pommavanh

Fearless Frederic by Felice Arena

Everything I've Never Said by Samantha Wheeler

His Name was Walter by Emily Rodda

Some other books I would also include are...

The Book of Answers by A.L. Tait

Missing by Sue Whiting

Lenny's Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee

I wonder which books you would include in your favourite books from 2018...

that doesn't look like me! 365/11

Eric.Ray via Compfigh

Happy reading!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “CBCA Clayton’s Night

  1. Alayne

    Superb list Kim. I agree, a tough list to narrow down to six. If my library reservations are anything to go by I would have to add The Mulberry Tree by Allison Rushby and The Adventures of Catvinkle by Elliot Perlman (great for those kids who are left floundering after the wonderful Polly and Buster series). The Notables list has left me wondering about the age appropriateness of Lenny's Book of Everything. It is on my to-be-read pile and was pleased to see you have listed it in this age range.

    Reply
    1. Miss Y

      Hi Alayne,

      The Mulberry Tree was on my list initially too. So many great books to choose from. There will be lots of excited Polly and Buster fans in June when 'The Search for the Silver Witch' is published. I was a bit torn with Lenny's Book of Everything. It's definitely the older end of Middle Grade fiction and will suit mature readers. (I hope it doesn't get overlooked being placed in the Older Readers section). Karen Foxlee's writing is exquisite and I was thrilled to see it recently won the Indie Children's Book Award. Lenny and Davey will burrow into your heart...and you will need a box of tissues handy!

      Happy reading!

      Kim 🙂

      Reply
    1. Miss Y

      Thank you, Jo.

      It calmed my nerves seeing your smiling face in the audience!

      Happy reading!

      Kim 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar